What I’m Reading

I have a habit of reading more than one book at once, usually a novel, a short story collection and something factual (usually history, but not always).

At the moment I’m reading The Mirage by Matt Ruff – an excellent alt-history novel where Arabia is the dominant world superpower and where the 9/11 (or in this case 11/9) attacks happened not in New York but Baghdad. I’m also revisiting the work of Robert Sheckley – one of my favourite science fiction writers – by reading The Store of the Worlds, an anthology of some of his best short fiction (including, of course, the title piece which was one of the stories that got me into science fiction in the first place).

Last, but by no means least, I’m also reading John Keegan’s The Face of Battle, his 1974 examination of the reality of warfare for the common soldier. Examining Agincourt, Waterloo and the Somme, I think it’s a book that any writer of heroic/ epic fantasy or sword and sorcery could benefit from studying.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

